Plant cream

Plant cream is cream derived from a plant source. Common varieties are soy cream and coconut cream.[1][2][3]

There are a variety of reasons for consuming plant cream, including conditions such as PKU, making digestion of animal proteins (especially casein found in dairy) difficult or even impossible, lactose intolerance and milk allergy (approximately 3% of people are allergic),[4] Jewish Kashrut (plant cream is Pareve), veganism or ovo-vegetarianism, and the avoidance of dairy products, considered unappealing by some people. Soy-free and gluten-free plant creams are marketed towards people with multiple food allergies and coeliac disease.

Plant milk may be considered by many Westerners as a substitute for dairy milk, but plant milks are commonly manufactured and used in places where cow's milk is unknown or unavailable in large quantities, or is unpopular because of cost.

See also

References

  1. "Soyatoo soy cream and rice cream". Soyatoo.de. Retrieved 28 November 2017.
  2. "The power of Swedish oats". 2.oatly.com. Retrieved 28 November 2017.
  3. "Mimiccreme - Parhaat suomalaiset nettikasinot". Mimiccreme.com. Retrieved 28 November 2017.
  4. "Archived copy". Archived from the original on 2010-10-27. Retrieved 2010-11-15.
This article is issued from Wikipedia. The text is licensed under Creative Commons - Attribution - Sharealike. Additional terms may apply for the media files.